By Tracy Haney/managing editor

A faculty survey to assess the state of shared governance at Eastern was postponed at Monday’s Faculty Senate meeting.The shared governance program was initiated in 2002 to ensure more individuals at Eastern have a say in the decision-making processes of the university.

According to Faculty Senate Chair Carolyn Siegel, the Senate voted to hold off on the survey until a task force on shared governance could be assembled in the spring.

Siegel said the Senate wishes to “educate faculty about shared governance” before administering the survey. According to Siegel, it is a possibility the survey may not be conducted at all.

In other business, the 65 faculty and staff members who signed up for the Fitness and Wellness Center lottery received a membership. The number did not meet the 100-membership allotment the Center offered at the beginning of the semester.

The Senate views professors’ tenure plans as an important item on this year’s agenda. According to Siegel, no motions on the subject will be made until the end of the academic year or the beginning of next fall.

A list of new minors, new programs and a revised program were approved by the Senate on Tuesday, including a new Canadian studies minor, forensic anthropology minor, social inequalities minor, paralegal studies minor, a post-baccalaureate certificate in paralegal science and a creative writing program. The Senate also approved revisions to the emergency medical care program.

A decision on whether to remove midterm grade requirements for graduate level classes was postponed until the next Senate meeting.

New and returning members of the Faculty Senate include Alan Ault, Jill Carnahan-Jarvis, James Chapman, Marco Ciocca, Melissa Dieckmann, David Eakin, Chris Neumann, Minh Nguyen, Ted Randles, Marcel Robles, John Taylor, Staci Wilson, Gene Wolf, Christine Wright and David May.

Reach Tracy at