By Adam Baker/News editor

The Student Government Association kicked off its first Senate meeting of the semester Tuesday night. Of the 30 members, 17 were present for the meeting — allowing the Senate to meet quorum and convene. The meeting began with the president’s address by Student Body President Kristin O’Brien.

O’Brien said she was “excited” about the upcoming year and looked forward to fulfilling the duties of her new position.

“We have a lot of new people (on Senate) and we will be able to have amazing impact,” she said.

The approval of various Senate chair positions was the main order of the meeting.

Student Body Executive Vice President Lance Melching offered his nominations for each senate chair position. Melching’s nominations were approved and four Senate members were appointed to each chair..

Jacinda Bertie was appointed as committee on committees chairman, Katie Clipson as academic affairs chairman, Kyle Moon as student rights chairman and Ashley Simmons as appropriations chairman.

The four new chairmen will be sworn in at the Senate’s next meeting on Sept. 9. The Senate will not be in session this coming Tuesday due to SGA fall elections.

Reach Adam at